Soapbox Science

Soapbox Science returns to Cape Town

Soapbox Science takes place on Saturday 25th November from 12h00 to 15h00 at the Clock Tower, V& A Waterfront. This event promotes the visibility and boosts career prospects of female and non-binary scientists.
Read more

Study Science

The Faculty of Science is home to approximately 3 300 students, of which some 22% are postgraduate full research students registered in the 12 academic departments. There are about 229 academic staff and some 245 support staff who provide for our undergraduate and postgraduate students.


Why Science at UCT?

Home to approximately 3 300 students, of which some 36% are postgraduate students registered in the 12 academic departments – Archaeology, Astronomy, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental & Geographical Science, Geological Sciences, Mathematics & Applied Mathematics, Molecular & Cell Biology, Oceanography, Physics and Statistical Sciences.

Undergraduate teaching is a cornerstone of our activities and the Faculty offers 20 different majors, with possibilities to co-major in subjects located in other Faculties. Our majors are loosely organised into three clusters – those in the biology, earth and environmental sciences, those in the chemical and molecular sciences, and those in the numerical and physical sciences. Our Bachelor of Science degree leads naturally on to a number of different Honours degrees that relate to the undergraduate major(s) offered by the various departments.

The Faculty of Science prides itself on the high regard in which it is held by the international academic community, reflected in part by international world university and subject rankings. According to the latest QS rankings, the Science Faculty at UCT places in the band 51-100 top universities in the Earth and Marine Sciences and in the band 101-150 in the Biological and Environmental Sciences.

The Faculty prides itself on its strong teaching programmes, at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, and on the strength of its research enterprise. With well developed international links with researchers across the world, the Faculty is a major contributor to cutting-edge, globally relevant research. Maano Ramutsindela Dean: Faculty of Science (2019-2023)

Find out more