Like other Faculties, the Science Faculty recognises the value of student voices in the activities of the Faculty. At the undergraduate level this is achieved through the formal structure of a Science Students’ Council (SSC), a body elected by students to represent student interests.  

The SSC thus provides a representative structure through which students can debate issues of concern, to undertake initiatives to the benefit of the undergraduate student body, and provides students with a voice and a mechanism through which to make a contribution to the running of the Science Faculty. 

Members of the SSC are elected annually by the student body.

SSC Mission Statement

The SSC is a student governance body comprised of 10 elected students, that serves as a platform for students to voice opinions and concerns, and thus establishes and maintains formal communication between the student body and faculty management. This is in part done by sitting on various multiple governance structures within the University, including sub-councils, faculty committees, the Dean's Advisory Committee and Student Parliament.

We strive to provide students with a safe environment that is intellectually stimulating and maximally conducive to learning. We aim to enable students to reach their full potential on both academic and personal levels by providing academic support and by advertising existing opportunities that promote learning and personal growth, as well as by hosting our own events.

2024 Council Members

Denga Mabidi Chairperson
Vacant Vice Chairperson
Mpendulo Khumalo Secretary General
Ndumiso Zondi Treasurer
Zenande Mdludlu Academic Chair
Tapiwa Masocha Marketing & Memorabilia
Matome Lethwane Events Co-ordinator
Mahim Imran Transformation & Outreach
David Aphane IT & Resource Manager
Sivarniah Moodley Student Life & Publications


Updated 8 Apr 2024