Professor Maano Ramutsindela is the new Dean of the Faculty of Science

05 Mar 2019
05 Mar 2019

Professor Maano Ramutsindela from the Department of Environmental and Geographical Science is now the Dean of the Faculty of Science. He took up this position on 1 March 2019. Before his appointment as the Dean, Professor Ramutsindela was the Deputy Dean of Operations. He has also served the science faculty in critical committees such as the Ad Hominem Committee, Committee of Assessors and the Executive Committee. He chaired the Faculty of Science Transformation Advisory Committee and served as an elected member of the UCT Council and the Senate Executive Committee. As a member of the Senate Committee of 12, he chaired and participated in committees that handled conflicts. He represented UCT in the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN) and is the founding co-chair of the WUN Global Africa Group.


Professor Maano Ramutsindela

Having obtained his PhD in Geography from the Royal Holloway, University of London, Professor Ramutsindela has gone on to receive the NRF President Award (currently known as the NRF Prestigious Award), the International Visitor Award of the African Studies Association in the USA, an appointment as Fellow of the Society of South African Geographers, and the NRF Award for the Transformation of the Science Cohort. He is an elected member of the Academy of Science of South Africa.

•             Read Professor Ramutsindela’s abridged CV.

The EGS department wishes Professor Ramutsindela all the best in his new position.