Individual members of the department are engaged in a broad range of research topics. In addition however, the department also houses three seperate research units. Members of the department work in close collaboration with these units.

Climate System Analysis Group (CSAG)

This is the climatology research group based in the EGS department. CSAG was recently made the START/PACOM Centre of Excellence. The unit strongly focuses on climate modelling and climate change studies, but also has numerous projects that deal with atmospheric research issues pertinent to the country and region.

For more information about CSAG please visit their website -

African Centre for Cities (ACC)

The ACC gives expression to the UCT Signature Theme that seeks to promote interdisciplinary research on cities in Africa. Scholars and postgraduate students across UCT with an interest in urban research can participate in a number of ways in the work of the ACC. The primary opportunity for interdisciplinary engagement is the lead programme focussed on the Cape Town city-region – the CityLab, which in turn is supported by a related programme – the Cape Urban Observatory.

For more information about ACC please visit their website -​

African Climate and Development Initiative (ACDI)

The African Climate & Development Initiative (ACDI) is UCT’s active response to the climate change and development challenge. The ACDI was set up in 2011 by the University of Cape Town’s (UCT) Vice-Chancellor Max Price as one of four strategic initiatives, each contributing to UCT’s mission to tackle key issues in the social and natural worlds. It is also one of the Vice-Chancellor’s signature themes; these themes are chosen to drive research in a strategic manner, and are grounded in existing areas of internationally-recognized excellence at UCT , whilst being aligned to institutional, regional and national priorities. Uniquely, the ACDI merges climate change issues with development issues, bringing together UCT’s breadth and depth of research and teaching in these areas, which previously were conducted largely in isolation within a variety of departments and research centres.