Biomedical Statistics

This interdisciplinary research group brings together researchers involved in the analysis of data from medical and biomedical data. The focus is on advanced methodology applicable to the field including bioinformatics, infectious disease modelling, longitudinal and time-to-event modelling, growth curve modelling, causal modelling, methods for incidence estimation and multivariate analysis.  The group meets on a monthly basis.

Current members: Assoc Prof Francesca Little, Dr Freedom Gumedze, Dr Reshma Kassanjee, Dr Miguel Lacerda, Dr Sheetal Silal, Dr Michael Schoemaker and Dr Maia Lesosky.

Data Science

Data science is an exciting new field that uses computer-intensive statistical methods to identify patterns and make predictions using large volumes of data. The applications of data science are diverse, from predicting fraudulent transactions before they occur to extracting marketing insights from unstructured social media data. This research group is interested in the statistical and machine learning techniques that are used in data science applications.

Current members include  Dr Miguel Lacerda, Dr Ian Durbach, Dr Sebnem Er, Assoc Prof Francesca Little, Dr Juwa Nyirenda, Mr Neil Watson, Assoc Prof Tim Gebbie, Dr Melvin Varughese, Mr Stefan Britz, Mr Mzabalazo Ngwenya and Dr. Etienne Pienaar.

Statistical Finance

This is an interdisciplinary research group working on the intersection of statistical analysis and simulation in Finance. Research is focused on a data driven enquiry into the structure, function and interrelationships between various components of financial markets. Research topics currently include, agent-based modelling, non-linear models, jump-diffusion and point-process models, machine and statistical learning for trading, investing and risk management, Econophysics, quantitative analysis, portfolio management and optimisation, financial risk modelling, asset pricing and machine learning in financial markets.

Current members and coordinators: : Assoc Prof Tim Gebbie, Dr. Etienne Pienaar.

Modelling and Simulation Hub, Africa (MASHA)

The Modelling and Simulation Hub, Africa (MASHA) is a research group at the University of Cape Town.  MASHA’s research focus is the development and application of mathematical modelling and computer simulation to predict the dynamics and control of infectious diseases to evaluate the impact of policies aimed at reducing morbidity and mortality. Based in the Faculty of Science, MASHA’s research is closely integrated with other disciplines resulting in policy-driven and impactful scientific research.The group also hosts an annual short course on introductory concepts on Infectious Disease Modelling.

Current members: Dr Sheetal Silal, Dr Chacha Issarow, Jared Norman, Wanja Chabaari and graduate students.


Operational Research

This departmental research group focuses on the development of appropriate decision modelling and support tools, including both “hard” (e.g. optimization and simulation) and “soft” (e.g. problem structuring and systems modelling) approaches, relevant to critical national decision and policy making (e.g. in health, water, energy, agriculture, public sector monitoring and evaluation).

Current members: Dr Ian Durbach, Dr Juwa Nyirenda, Dr Rosephine Rakotonirainy Assoc Prof Leanne Scott, Dr Sheetal Silal, Emeritus Prof Theo Stewart, Assoc Prof Tim Gebbie, and Mr Neil Watson.

Statistics in Ecology, Environment and Conservation

This interdepartmental research group is hosted in the Department of Statistical Sciences but also includes core team members from Biological Sciences and organisations outside UCT. We work at the intersection between statistics, ecology and environmental sciences, with an overarching theme of structured decision support. Our research focuses on conservation, animal and plant demography, climate change, understanding of biodiversity patterns, evolutionary ecology and macroecology.

Current core team members: Greg Distiller, Allan Clark , Birgit Erni, Ian Durbach, Mzabalazo Ngwenya, Vernon Visser, Res Altwegg, Astrid Jarre (Biological Sciences), Jasper Slingby (South African Environmental Observation Network), Jonathan Colville (South African National Biodiversity Institute), Guy Midgley (Stellenbosch University), David Borchers (University of St Andrews).