Associate Professor Johann Diener

Associate Professor

Metamorphic petrology


My main research interest is the development and application of mineral equilibria modelling techniques (THERMOCALC) to investigate metamorphic processes. Specific interests are the conditions and mechanisms of migmatisation and melt migration through lower-crustal rocks (with ongoing projects in the Namaqua Metamorphic Complex in South Africa and Namibia), and the interplay of physical and chemical processes during crustal reworking.

Selected Publications 

More on: Research Gate and Google Scholar

  1. Diener, J.F.A., Powell, R., White, R.W. & Holland, T.J.B. (2007) A new thermodynamic model for clino- and orthoamphiboles in the system Na2O–CaO–FeO–MgO–Al2O3–SiO2–H2O–O. Journal of Metamorphic Geology, 25, 631–656.
  2. Green, E.C.R., White, R.W., Diener, J.F.A., Powell, R., Holland, T.J.B. & Palin, R.M. (2016) Activity–composition relations for the calculation of partial melting equilibria in metabasic rocks. Journal of Metamorphic Geology, 34, 845–869.
  3. Schorn, S. & Diener, J.F.A. (2017) Details of the gabbro–to–eclogite transition determined from microtextures and calculated chemical potential relationships. Journal of Metamorphic Geology, 35, 55–75.
  4. Diener, J.F.A. & Fagereng, Å. (2014) The influence of melting and melt drainage on crustal rheology during orogenesis. Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth, 119, 6193–9210.
  5. Fagereng, Å. & Diener, J.F.A. (2011) Non-volcanic tremor and discontinuous slab dehydration. Geophysical Research Letters, 38, L15302.

Graduated Students 

1. S. Schorn, PhD 2019 2. A. Carvalho, MSc 2019
3. L. Tafur, MSc 2019 with distinction 4. L. Huang, MSc 2017
5. T. Sebetlela, MSc 2017 6. T. Stuck, MSc 2016 with distinction
7. G. Byrnes, MSc 2015 8. M. Hartnady, MSc 2014 with distinction
9. S. Thomas, MSc 2014 10. D. McGibbon, MSc 2014
11. C. Cross, MSc 2013 with distinction 12. C. Faber, MSc 2012 with distinction


  • PhD University of Melbourne, 2008
  • MSc University of Stellenbosch, 2004
  • BSc(Hons) University of Stellenbosch, 2002
  • Associate Professor, University of Cape Town, 2019-present
  • Senior Lecturer, University of Cape Town, 2014-2018
  • Lecturer, University of Cape Town, 2008-2013