The Department of Chemistry is equipped for many and varied research activities. In addition to a microanalytical service, gas-liquid chromatography, high-speed liquid chromatography and other routine facilities, major items of modern physical equipment include NMR (Varian VXR 200, Mercury 300 multi-nuclear and solid-state spectrometers) and atomic absorption spectrometers (flame and graphite furnace), an inductively-coupled plasma spectrometer, mid-IR spectrophotometers, UV-visible spectrophotometers, X-ray generators and single-crystal diffractometers (four-circle and CCD detector) for crystallographic studies, a spectropolarimeter, and workstations for both thermal and electrochemical analysis. The Department is also fortunate in having the opportunity of utilising facilities in other departments within the University. In terms of computing the Department has several research and teaching microlabs, several workstations for molecular modelling, workstations for the processing of NMR data, and full access to the local area network.

Fellows in the Faculty

The Council of the University has established Fellowships for members of the permanent academic staff in recognition of original distinguished academic work of such quality as to merit special recognition.

The Department of Chemistry is proud to have in its current staff cohort, no fewer than five Fellows in the Faculty of Science. They are Professor S Bourne, Professor M R Caira, Professor K Chibale, Professor T J Egan ,Professor A L Rodgers.

Services offered

The Centre for Supramolecular Chemistry Research group within the department offers Single Crystal Diffraction and PXRD analysis.

In addition, research is also carried out on aspects of Chemical Education—curriculum design, writing and communication within the discipline. Contact A/Prof Bette Davidowitz.