The following postgraduate qualifications are offered:

Honours degree: Honours is an intensive year-long program of advanced study within a particular discipline, after successful completion of a BSc degree. 

Master’s degree: There are two Master’s degree offerings in the Faculty of Science, the Master of Science and the Master of Philosophy.  

Master of Science: This can be either a research-based degree or a part coursework degree. The former requires the submission of a dissertation on a selected research topic, completed under the guidance of a supervisor. The Master of Science by coursework and minor dissertation is a degree in which a candidate completes part of the requirement through coursework, and the other by way of a minor dissertation on a piece of supervised research. The dissertation is smaller in scope. The majority of students in the Science Faculty complete their Master’s degree as a research-based degree.

Master of Philosophy (MPhil): This is either a research degree, or a degree obtained by coursework and minor dissertation, for candidates engaged in cross-faculty research dissertations or where a candidate comes from a non-science academic background. 

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD):
The degree of Doctor of Philosophy is a research degree that requires a candidate to be able to conduct independent research on his/her own initiative. Through the thesis the candidate must be able to demonstrate that he/she is at the academic forefront in the topic selected, that the work is original and that it advances knowledge in the field.

A summary of the postgraduate qualifications offered by the Faculty can be found here, whereas individual degrees and associated rules can be found in the Faculty Handbook.

Page last updated 4 January 2023